I Don’t Know How She Does It by Allison Pearson

23 Sep

Reading I Don't Know How She Does It

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Happy Friday Everyone!
 
Another post from Mummy, I’m writing it at the same place I wrote the last post I did (without spelling it out!!)  which ties in with this post.  When my lovely partner Reza (Daddy) saw a post about reviewing a book called I Don’t Know How She Does It, he thought it would be a good book for me to review.  He was right, once I received it I was very intrigued to get stuck in and see life through another Working Mummys eyes.
 
The book was originally written ten years ago and has now been made into a film starring Sarah Jessica Parker.  To be honest I did not know nothing about the film until I saw the book.  The prologue of the book says:
 
“Meet Kate Reddy, mother of two and successful business woman.   A victim of time famine, Kate counts seconds like other women count calories.  Factor in a manipulative nanny, an Australian boss who looks at Kate’s breats as if they’re on special offer, a long-suffering husband, her quietly aghast in-laws, two needy children and an e-mail lover, and you have a woman juggling so many balls that some day soon something’s going to hit the ground.”
 
There are some similarities between myself  and Kate Reddy.  I work 5 days a week 8:30 until 16:30.  We have two children.  I’m always running about at home before and after work trying to help out to make the day easier.  I regularly have a list of things to remember to do/buy!!   I sometimes buy the eldest a chocolate on the way home as a kind of  “I missed you present and I hope this will make it up a little”  I used to do it every day, but now maybe 2 days out of 5 as he is getting older now and we don’t expect him to have to be bribed!!  Kate Reddy does a more extreme version I will quote an example :
 
  “You see, what you can buy from a five-year-old when you get back from a client visit is, if not love or even forgiveness, than an amnesty of sorts” 
 
I say it’s more extreme but what if I was in her shoes what would I do?  Kate Reddy clearly has more money than me and is working away a lot.  So can I say hand on my heart that I wouldn’t do the same?  No, I can’t chances are I probably would do the same!
 
The major stand out difference between Kate and our family is that we don’t have a Nanny.  My personal opinion is that even if we could afford I wouldn’t like to have one.  I feel it’s nicer for kids to have a close member of family to look after them, if that is an option.  But I do understand that there are instances where it’s not a option, so it’s just my opinion.  I’m intrigued to see if they stay with the Nanny (Kate seems to disagree with a few things that she does) for instance buying her daughter a Baby Wee Wee which Kate expressly forbid!
 
I hope that Richard (The Daddy) plays more of a role in the book, even Kate Reddy said as one of her New Years Resolutions that she should not take him for granted!  Reza (as you all fondly know as Stayathomedaddyfor2″!!)  is a very full on Daddy and does a lot of other tasks and I am always very grateful to him.  He not only looks after the boys but he cooks dinner and does food shopping too. 
 
I will be doing a full review of the book once I have finished reading so keep your eyes peeled!!
 
(Thanks to Emma at edpr for sending me the book to review.) 
Leave a Reply

