Review on I Don’t Know How She Does It Book by Allison Pearson

21 Nov

Morning All,

This is a guest post from Mummy.  I’ve finally finished I Don’t Know How She Does It. Hooray! That fact sums up the jist of the book as like Kate Reddy the character, my time is limited though not to the extent of Kate’s!  The only time I got to read this book was my journey to and from work on the tube, when I could get a seat!!  I really enjoyed this book and I am rather sad it’s finished!!

Kate Reddy is a working mother of two children (just like me!)  Her job is a lot more demanding than mine and it often requires her to leave the country.  Although our lifes are very different they are similar in a few ways.  The first similarity is that she is always trying to remember what she needs to do/buy/arrange! sometimes as humans do she does forget little things.  The other similarity is sometimes feeling overwhelmed to how much we as working parents miss our children.  At the same time finding the weekends such a big difference to the week and wondering if we will ever get used to how much attention and time the kids want!  But of course we love it!  There are a lot of times in the book where Kate feels sad/guilty that she in not at home full time, which I also feel a lot!

The big difference between myself and Kate is that her husband/ the kids Daddy also works.  Not the demanding hours that Kate does and he does not need to work abroad.  I often felt that Kate did not give Richard the credit he deserves.   My other half/ Daddy to the boys does even more than what Richard does and I always let him know how much I appreciate him and what he does.   I don’t think that she ever meant to be like that just feeling frustrated at working so much and also being busy constantly at home.  But the great thing is that at the end of the book she does realise that she takes him for granted, I loved the ending I’m not going to give it away but it is quite a Fairytale Ending in my opinion.

This is a great read for anybody, but I find that someome who is in a similar position whether female or male will find it a lot more interesting.  I often read the book and I would say to myself  “Wow, me too!”  I would love to see the film to see how it compares as people always say the film can never be better than the book!

Disclosure:  We were given a copy of I Don’t Know How She Does It by Allison Pearson for reviewing purposes.  This is Mummy’s opinion!

Leave a Reply

